Skip to content
14 March 2013 / getrus

The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards — Kristopher Jansma

leopards   Another book I received as an ARC.  This is the authors debut novel and I expect to see more in the future.

I knew from after reading only a couple of pages that I was going to fall in love with this book.  And I did.  I almost read all of it in one sitting, except it got extremely late and I had to get up early the next day.  I was warned however.  The first page of the ARC I received had a note from the Editor with a disclaimer.

The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards is essentially a book about writing a book.  The narrator tells about his life in how he has written and the various books he wrote and then managed to lose. The first one when he was a young boy waiting in an airport terminal for his mother to finish from work as a flight attendant.

Jansma writes (in terms used from the book) on a slant.  He does not write fiction, but he does not write the truth.  He writes the truth on a slant.  The way he does it though is what makes this novel so great.  He manages to make one feel as if they are standing next to the narrator looking at the scene unfold or they are in the mind of the person who is speaking.

As mentioned before, I wanted to finish reading this novel in one sitting.  It is an outstanding debut which most likely I will read again and again, merely because I enjoyed it so much.

**** (Four Stars)

Expected publication is March 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

