Skip to content
9 June 2012 / getrus

Favorite Authors and Books From Elementary–Part 2

Alright, here we are with part 2. Recap of part 1The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander, Matilda by Roald Dahl, Quest for a Maid by Frances Mary Hendry, The Nancy Drew Mysteries by Carolyn Keene, and Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine.  Now remember these are not in order of favorite but alphabetical.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis.  My mother bought my set at a library sale, so needless to say they are well loved books and happen to be from the seventies.  The library was given a new set and was getting rid of the older one.  I remember this distinctly because I happen to be home sick that day.  I was in third grade and she went out for an hour while I took a nap and came home with Narnia to cheer me up.

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.  This actually was required reading in fourth or fifth grade.  Everyone in my class enjoyed it. . . well maybe not everyone.  I love reading her books and in Junior High we had to read The Giver which has only recently been published at that point.  In fact when I go to a bookstore and find a new book published by her I buy a copy to read.  Currently in my pile of books to read is Gossamer.

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.  As a red head myself I love to read books where the heroine also has red hair.  Not to mention the fact that Anne is always getting into some scrape or another with her friends.  The whole series is one which I have read a couple of times and seen the mini-series more times than I can count.  (Pretty much everytime it was on IPTV or I borrowed it from the library.)

In My Father’s House by Ann Rinaldi.  Rinaldi brought me to love historical fiction.  I went through a period where everything I read was historical fiction.  (It might be part of the reason why I know so much history. . other than the fact that I studied it in college.)  If I remember correctly In My Father’s House was the first one I read, or at least one of them, considering I found it when I was going through a box of books my mom was getting rid of.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling.  I wrote a post not too long ago about Harry Potter.  I have read these books all throughout my life, considering when I was in 6th Grade only the third books had been published.  But they had such an impact on my childhood I had to include them.  And because of this I am considering reading J. K.’s new book which comes out soon.

This list is not all of the books I loved.  As stated in my previous post I had to cut back a lot.  I have even found copies of some of the books I remembered when making this list and read them over again.  There is no way I will ever be tired of the books  and authors on this list.  (Considering I am currently rereading the Harry Potter series for, I think, the fourth time.)

Leave a Reply

