Skip to content
26 April 2012 / getrus

Harry Potter

Yes, I know Harry and his friends have been around for what seems like a long time.  In fact I started to read them when I was in 5th grade.  (keep in mind I am almost 24)  I remember the great anticipation when each new book would come out and what was the earliest date I could get it from the library or borrow it from a friend who had bought it.  I even remember that when the 7th book came out I had a friend who was living in Japan at the time who threatened to give away all the details, because of the time difference he had read the entire book before it had even gone on sale here.

Then there was the movies.  I remember going to midnight showings and being tired the next day at school or work, but thinking it was totally worth it.  Also having conversations with my friends after each movie about what they didn’t put in and what they did good.  What they could have left out, etc.

But now, it is the end of an era.  This past weekend I finally watched the last Harry Potter movie, 7.2.  I was a little disappointed, but I am partial to reading a book than seeing the movie.  I will forever love the Harry Potter series and probably reread them every couple of years, just because they are not only an amazing story, but because they are a part of my history.  They are a part of my growing up.  They started with me in 5th grade (11 years old) and have been with me until now.  I grew up with Harry.  We were, when most of the books came out, the same age.

“When I am 80 years old and sitting in my rocking chair, I’ll be reading Harry Potter.  And my family will say to me, “After all this time?”  And I will say, “Always.”

-Alan Rickman

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jeyna Grace / Apr 26 2012 23:25

    Me too! I started the books at 11, so i literally grew up with them.

Trackbacks

  1. Favorite Authors and Books From Elementary–Part 2 « After the Page Turns

Leave a Reply

