Skip to content
17 March 2012 / getrus

The Prince and the Pauper — Mark Twain

I finished reading The Prince and the Pauper last night.  This is another book which I could have sworn I read when I was a kid, but have come to realize I never did.  (There happens to be a lot of these books out there and I will hopefully get through them all at some point.)  The story is about a young beggar who is named Tom Canty who finds his way to the Royal household of Henry VIII and his son Prince Edward.  The two young boys exchange clothing and realize they look exactly alike, except one is dressed in rags and the other in fine clothing.  Edward goes to take care of something dressed in rags and is unceremoniously kicked out of the castle and forced to live on the streets, while Tom is still in the castle.

Both boys are forced to live the life of the other, even though they keep trying to tell everyone the are not who everyone thinks they are.  Tom becomes resigned to his role as the Prince and even relishes in the lavishness for a good while.  Edward though has a rough time  and learns what it actually is like for the majority of his people to live like.  He even spends some time in prison.  The turning point comes when the death of the king (Henry VIII) is announced and the prince realizes he is now king.

The prince (now king) eventually makes his way to the coronation ceremony where Tom is about to be crowned.  The whole thing is had out and Edward is crowned King.

I left out a lot of the nitty gritty.  I absolutely loved this book.  Twain has a way with words and I will never get tired of reading his works.

**** (four stars)

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Literary Tiger / Mar 17 2012 22:46

    Thanks for the book review. It sounds very interesting; I think I’ll have to put that on my acquisitions list. I hope you don’t mind if I link back to this review on my acquisitions book page?

    • getrus / Mar 18 2012 08:06

      No, feel free to link to it.

  2. manonmona / Mar 18 2012 16:16

    Reblogged this on Espacio de MANON.

  3. manonmona / Mar 18 2012 18:23

    CUANDO APRENDI DE ESTE HOMBRE CONOCI LA ANECDOTA DE SU NOMBRE ELEGIDO. MARIK TWIN, OIA DECIR EN LA BARCAZA QUE LO LLEVABA POR EL RIO , MARCA DOS PARA NO ENCALLAR. ESO DE NINA ME HIZO ENTENDER MAS LA PROFUNDIDAD DE SUS LETRAS. GRAN ESCRITOR. GRAN GENIO DE UNA LITERATUA PROFUNDA Y LLANA. HOMBRE DE RIO. HOMBRE GRANDE. SALUDOS MANON KUBLER

Leave a Reply

