Skip to content
14 June 2011 / getrus

A Red Herring Without Mustard — Alan Bradley

Ah, Flavia de Luce.  How I have missed your antics and your snarkiness.  I read the first Flavia de Luce mystery (The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie) as an arc in college and fell in love with it.  Now I can’t wait until the next one comes out.

Flavia is a precocious 11-year-old who manages to find herself in the middle of a murder or some investigation going on at Buckshaw (the family estate).  In this delightful chapter Flavia finds herself helping a gypsy only to later have that gypsy bludgeoned and left for dead in her own caravan.   During her crazy adventure she meets Porcelain, the gypsy’s granddaughter, and we are introduced to the Bull family which live not to far away from Buckshaw.  As always Flavia manages to deduce everything like a young female Sherlock Holmes and work out experiments in her personal laboratory (oh how I wish I had one of those when I was a kid).  Of course, other things happen like, Brookie being killed and then strung up on the trident of Posiden. Also, Flavia was given a painting of her mother and sisters which had been lost for years.

There is so much to go into, but I don’t want to ruin it.  Alan Bradley is a genius when it comes to writing about little miss Flavia.  As I said before I cannot wait until the next one comes out.

**** (four stars)

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. themisanthropologist / Jun 14 2011 23:22

    So the third book is out? Cool. I’ve only read the first book so far, but I have the second book as well – still unread but I am hoping to read it soon…

    • getrus / Jun 15 2011 08:22

      It was released earlier this year. You should definitely read it when you get a chance if you enjoyed Sweetness.

      • themisanthropologist / Jun 15 2011 08:53

        Yes I did enjoy Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. I will definitely read the other books!

Trackbacks

  1. Speaking From Among the Bones — Alan Bradley | After the Pages Turn

Leave a Reply

