Skip to content
4 June 2011 / getrus

The Sign of Four — Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I finished The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle on June 1.  I have read some of his other Sherlock Holmes stories before, but this one was just a little bit different than the others.

I have to say I did not like this story all that much.  It might the fact that Holmes over analyzes everything or it could be the plot which was predictable.

–Mary Morstan, damsel in distress, comes to Holmes and Watson hoping that they could help her by coming with her to meet someone who know something about her missing  (and presumed dead) father.  Only to find themselves in the middle of a murder and loss of a wooden chest filled with jewels.  And Holmes, of course would be the only one with the intellect to eventually figure it out.  (There are certain parts about Victorian Literature which I cannot stand and that is the plausibility of all of these things actually happening.)  Then we get to the under current of the story.  That of the love story between Miss Morstan and dear faithful Watson.  Who, can only truly be together once they know the treasure has been lost forever.

I know I am leaving out a lot of the main points and I am not dismissing Doyle as a writer I enjoy reading his work.  I think it would be nice every once in a while to read something which I felt was a little more true to life and believable.

Leave a Reply

