Skip to content
20 December 2010 / getrus

The Elegance of the Hedgehog — Muriel Barbery

After finishing this book I am at a loss as to how I feel about it.  It is well written and has a good plot as well as a good moral, but there is something in Barbery’s writing which I cannot seem to understand or like.  In the book her characters look upon society as if it were nothing as if each person were simply walking around doing what was expected of them and not doing what they themselves would want to do. Except for these few people in this building.

Barbery writes as if everyone should know what she is talking about.  Like everyone should know of the various writers Renee the Concierge reads and mentions.  Or should understand the profound thoughts of a twelve year old girl who happens to be a genius.

I do not want to write it off completely it was overall a very good story and I enjoyed reading it, but there are parts where I feel as if Barbery was simply writing something for the sole purpose of saying “look at what I know and am simply putting in writing for you to see how smart I am.”

** (two stars)

Leave a Reply

